The “Day After” Easter

 

eastcross.jpg

For many of us, Easter is a relaxing time of family gatherings…and then there’s MY family. I had every intention of writing yesterday but was so totally exhausted, I couldn’t. You see, I had volunteered my family to help out with our church’s Easter Breakfast. This normally wouldn’t be a big deal, except that it meant being at church at 8 a.m. and running back & forth making sure that all the items were out for the breakfast, cooking Belgian waffles, helping with any and everything that needed doing. My husband is one ‘mean’ egg scrambler and took to that task like it was his very own. I was sort of a ‘general’ helper; keeping the waffles baked & stocked, running back & forth to the gym to make sure that there was enough of each type of food or coffee/juice/milk to fulfill the needs of all the people who attended. I’d render a good guess at probably somewhere around 280 people came. We truly had a feast going: Belgian waffles with your choice of toppings: whipped cream, warmed strawberry topping, warmed syrup, scrambled eggs, all sorts of egg casseroles, sausages, ham, little ‘piggy in a blanket’ items that were breakfast sausages surrounded by a pancake on a stick (by Jimmy Dean company)…those were great for the little kids, sliced fresh fruits of all kinds, muffins, cinnamon rolls, coffee/milk/juice…I think that about covers it. At 9:50 I had to join the choir for the cantata. I think we finally got home somewhere around 12 noon; most of us promptly took a nap. One and a half hours later I was up working on our Easter dinner: garlic roasted mashed potatoes, spiral sliced glazed ham, gravy, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, tossed salad, rolls and, for dessert: cheese cake in 4 flavors (bought a multi-pack that had 3 slices of 4 different flavors…really yummy!). My oldest son, who’s the Executive Chef, showed up with our grandson and he took over the garlic roasting (I’d never done it before)…the potatoes were ‘to-die-for’ good!). All in all, it was a very tiring, but yummy day and we’ll be having great leftovers tonight, too, I’m sure. (NOTE TO SELF: Next year, don’t stay up until 1 a.m. watching TV, and then expect to be all ‘bright-eyed and bushy tailed the next morning…having only had something like 4 hours sleep!)

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday!

Hugs;

Pammie

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://grammiepammie.wordpress.com/2008/03/24/the-day-after-easter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s a whole big number of people wanting to eat breakfast! it can be fun, though, the serving and working together.

    Happy Easter! ours was much more laid back, but still included a nap for me….

  2. Reading about your day left me totally exhausted.
    Sounds like dinner turned out well; glad that Kris arrived to help out.

    Merry Easter to you and your’s!!

  3. Whew! I had trouble catching my breath on your duties on that day. Too bad you couldn’t have ‘snuck’ a little of that delicious breakfast home with you instead!


Leave a comment