Thoughts on a Thursday

Good Day!

Hope you are having a great, sunny Thursday – it’s another kind of grey day, but the weather’s improving in the ‘warmth’ area – yesterday it got up to 83 degrees by around 5 p.m. – quite amazing! We’re supposed to get rain just about all week – that’s OK – the flowers & plants will need it.

Went for a check  up to my Ob/Gyn Tues. and discovered I’d shrunk another 1/2 inch – (I have Scoliosis in my upper back) s0 now I’m a ‘towering’ 5′ 4 1/2 inchs (used to be 5′ 6″ at one time) – oh well, I’ll just learn to appreciate the ground with a closer view, that’s all! Also got some interesting information from the doctor concerning questions I’d had about side effects of the cancer drug – he told me to start taking Glucosamine & Condroytin for the joint pain – said he takes it and it really helps! (He said the meds mess with your body and make you feel like oncoming Arthritis – who knew?) If this helps that will be GREAT! (I was a bit worried that I’d have to tough it out for the 5 years on the drug). He also told me I don’t have to have another bone density scan for another 2 years! (Oncologist wanted me to have one in JUNE). The Ob/Gyn had given me one in 2010 and said that my bone density was SO GOOD that I shouldn’t need one yet, gave me a copy of my last test and said: Tell the Oncologist to call me if he doesn’t want to accept my opinion! You DON’T need one this soon!). Oncologist also mentioned I might have to start taking bone-strengthening shots (Provia?) – Ob said: “NO! #1 you got your breast cancer at an older age, #2 your insurance won’t cover the costs! They’re something like $1,500!” WOW! He said that insurance companies will cover them IF you’re in your 20’s, but not when you’re in your 60’s. He also gave me a list of vitamins & suppliments to help all that. I really like him as he must have asked me at least three times during the exam: “Do you have any more questions?” He said he has quite a few patients that are (or were) using the same cancer drug I’m on, so he’s well-versed on the side effects and how to avoid them. (YAY!) I was concerned about weight gain; he told me that’s only IF you were not post menopausal at the time of diagnosis ( I am already, so no worry there). (ANOTHER Yay!) Been trying to watch my weight, it’s come down about 2 lbs; my biggest struggle is with having ice cream and corn chips in the house – real temptations late at night. (Yes, if I didn’t have growning boys and a husband who ALSO want them around, they wouldn’t be here to tempt me.)  All – in – all it was a good visit; have to wait a week for the pap results. I had done another ‘dumb’ thing and forgot about scheduling a YEARLY pap exam – this time it had gone 2 years, so after the breast cancer scare, I surely don’t need to find out I have it in another area of the body. If my blog helps anyone, please PLEASE GET YOUR CHECK UPS! My breast cancer was caught early – if I had waited another year – who knows what the results would be?

Today’s babysit the grandson day – we’re going to be painting puzzles. I found some little wooden puzzles at Michael’s craft store a while back (he spotted them on the shelf here last week). They are simple little (maybe 10 piece) puzzles with an outlined picture and you use included pens to color them; should be fun, he likes painting or coloring things. That gets me thinking: maybe I can find something similar at JoAnn’s for him to color/paint for his Mom for Mother’s Day! (since I don’t have a Mom/Mother-in-Law any more, I tend to forget that holiday). That should be a ‘fun’ trip for me, looking for something he can make!

Recipes? Not so many these past few days – not sure why. (Of course you know I have some held ‘in reserve’, so I’ll post those now!)

==============

Peanut Butter Chocolate Truffles

 

1 1/3 C. peanut butter
1 1/3 C. graham crackers, crushed
2 sticks butter, melted
1 tsp. vanilla
1 (1 lb) box powdered sugar
1/3 block paraffin (sets chocolate)

12 oz bag semi sweet chocolate chips
Mix peanut butter, butter, vanilla in
large bowl; mix in graham crackers
& powdered sugar with hands until
stiff; form into bite sized balls.
Melt chocolate chips & paraffin
in top pot of double boiler (with
simmering water in lower part).
Lay out sheets of waxed paper;
dip peanut butter balls into
melted chocolate using toothpick,
place on waxed paper to dry.
Serves 24

(recipe: Lisa: justapinch.com)
—————————–

South of the Border Potatoes 
 

4 C. chopped, peeled thin-skinned 
potatoes 
2 tsp. olive oil  
1 tsp. chili powder 
1 tsp. ground coriander 
1 tsp. ground cumin 
1 tsp. garlic powder 
1 C. diced Roma tomatoes 
about 1/4 C. chopped fresh cilantro 
1/4 C. sliced green onions 
salt 
Tomato salsa 
sour cream 

Place potatoes in 12-inch non-stick 
frying pan with 1 1/2 C. water; cover 
tightly & bring to boil over high 
heat. Simmer over medium heat until 
potatoes are tender, 5-7 minutes.  
Drain into colander; wipe pan clean. 
To pan, add oil, chili powder,  
coriander, cumin & garlic powder; 
stir over medium-high heat 30 
seconds. Add potatoes & stir to 
coat, then mix in tomatoes,  
cilantro & green onions. Over high 
heat, occasionally turn mixture 
until browned, about 5-6 minutes. 
Season to taste. Serve salsa & 
sour cream as toppings. Serves 4. 

(recipe: RDJ 5/1/12) 
------------------
Chicken Fried Chops
(crockpot) 

1/2 C. flour
2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. ground mustard
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
6 pork chops, trimmed
2 T. vegetable oil
1 can cream of chicken soup,
undiluted
1/3 C. water

In shallow bowl, combine flour,
salt, mustard & garlic powder;
mix together & dredge pork
chops in mixture. Place chops
in bottom of crockpot. Combine
soup & water; pour over chops.
Cover & cook on Low 6-8 hours
or until meat is tender. If
desired, thicken pan juices &
serve with chops.

(recipe: KS tabby-1_Comfort_
Foods digest)
-----------------
Chicken, Tomato & Cucumber
Dinner Salad
 
 

5 T. olive oil, divided
1 1/4 lb. chicken breast tenders
salt & ground black pepper
1/4 C. cider vinegar or
white wine vinegar
1 t. snipped fresh thyme
1 tsp. sugar
1 medium cucumber, cut into
thin ribbons
2 tomatoes, sliced
1/2 C. pitted green olives,
halved or sliced
4 oz. feta cheese (optional)

In large skillet, heat 1 T.
olive oil over medium heat.
Lightly sprinkle chicken
tenders with salt & pepper.
Cook chicken in hot oil 8-10
minutes, turning once, until
no pink remains.

Vinaigrette:

In a screw-top jar, combine
remaining oil, vinegar, thyme,
sugar & 1/4 tsp. each salt &
pepper; shake to combine. 
Arrange chicken, cucumber
ribbons, sliced tomatoes, 
olives & feta cheese on 
four dinner plates. Drizzle
vinaigrette over salads.

(substitutes: You can 
substitute fish for chicken,
zucchini or carrots for
cucumbers, halved cherry
or grape tomatoes for
sliced, and pitted
Kalamata or ripe olives
for green olives)

(recipe: Peg-Marys REcipe
Exchange)
----------------
Bruschetta Chicken Bake
 

 
1 (14.5 oz) can diced
tomatoes, undrained
1 (6 oz) pkg. chicken 
stuffing mix
1/2 C. water
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 lb. boneless, skinless
chicken breasts, cut into
bite-sized pieces
1 tsp. dried basil leaves
1 C. shredded mozzarella
cheese

Preheat oven 400 degrees F.
Mix tomatoes, stuffing mix,
water & garlic just until
stuffing mix is moistened.
Layer chicken, basil & cheese
in 3 qt. casserole or 9 x
13 baking dish. Top with
stuffing. Bake 30 minutes
or until chicken is done.
Serves 6, 1 C. each

(recipe: kraftfoods)
-------------------
Crunchy Pea Salad
 
 

1 (10 oz) pkg. frozen baby peas,
thawed
1 C. diced celery
1 C. chopped cauliflower
1/4 C. diced green onions
1 C. chopped cashews
1/2 C. sour cream
1 C. Prepared Hidden Valley
Ranch salad dressing
6 slices crisp-cooked bacon,
crumbled (garnish)

Combine all ingredients-
chill well.
(recipe:RDJ 04-13-12)
-----------------------
Red Beans & Rice
(crockpot)

1 lb. dried small red beans
1 lb. andouille sausage, sliced
5 C. water
1 C. tomato sauce
1 T. worcestershire sauce
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pepper
2 T. cajun seasoning
1/2 C. finely chopped onion
1/2 C. finely chopped green pepper

Combine all ingredients in crockpot;
cook on Low 8-10 hours. Serve over
cooked white rice.
(recipe: Sandy-Marys Recipe
Exchange)
------------------------
Granny's Scrumdelicious
Cookies
 
 

1 C. butter
1 C. oil
1 C. brown sugar
1 C. white sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
3 1/2 C. flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cream of tartar
1 C. chocolate chips
1 C. quick cookg oats
1 C. coconut
1 C. Rice Krispies
1 C. walnuts or pecans,
chopped

Preheat oven 350 degrees F.
Cream together thoroughly:
butter, oil, brown sugar,
white sugar, egg & vanilla.
Add remaining ingredients;
mix well. Place large
tablespoon-size portions on 
lightly greased cookie sheets.
Bake 12-15 minutes or until
lightly brown.
=============================

Hope you have a wonderful day; enjoy
it! I'm reminded, daily, of just how
blessed I am, especially when going over
my prayer request list and seeing more
and more people on it with cancer, or
upcoming surgeries, or big life struggles -
we all go through trials, I'm just SO
grateful I have the Lord to help me
through mine.

Hugs;

Pammie

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://grammiepammie.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/thoughts-on-a-thursday-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

