Easter Sunday, 2013

Picture1

He has risen, indeed – just as He said!

Hope you and yours are enjoying a very nice and blessed Easter. Our weather couldn’t be much nicer – sunny, clear (a tiny bit of rain this morning – but that doesn’t count) and perfect for Spring! I have spent parts of the past two days with close friends, working arm-in-arm in our church kitchen. Saturday was food prep for the Easter Sunday breakfast – as in years past I’ve had a great time working with friends – like before, I washed, cut & arranged fruit skewers and, for the first time, helped crack 15 dozen eggs! Work is always made much lighter when working along side friends – lots of laughter, smiles, some teasing and above all – FUN! This morning was more of the same – for the first time (in the years doing this) I mixed large batches of pancake batter – LOTS of it! We were using the commercial mixes where you just add water and stir – and stir, and stir and STIR!!! Someone thought it would be a good idea to pour the batter into large water pitchers, making it easy to pour onto the griddles, so that’s what we did. Little did we know, the batter, once mixed – would RISE! I came back a little while later to see that the batter in the pitchers was OVERFLOWING! YIKES – back to the drawing boards – water it down a bit and keep going. I’m pretty sure no one went away from the breakfast hungry – there were pancakes left over AND pancake batter. After the service I came back into the kitchen and discovered there was still a half-ful large bowl of batter, so I poured it into a gallon zip-lock bag and brought it home. We had pancakes & eggs for lunch (with about 6 very big pancakes still leftover) – sort of like the Loaves & the Fishes – it fed many!

I took a break this afternoon and just napped – I’d earned it. Later this evening we’re having H.M. Pizza – (home made) but my guys call it: “Her Majesty’s Pizza” (see, bet you didn’t know I had a TITLE!) We will be having Easter dinner on Monday evening – first to allow me to get a little rest and second to also allow my oldest son and his family to join us. (He’s an executive chef and his off day is Monday). One of my guys got up this morning and said: “What? The Easter bunny didn’t visit our house?” (I’d totally forgotten to get out the baskets and fill them! Yes, even at their ‘advanced’ ages of 18, 24 & 30, they still get candy in their baskets!) Will have to remember to do that pretty soon here, as youngest gets off work at 8:30 p.m.

I still have yet to see our Michigan sign of Spring: the Robin – although many people tell me they’ve arrived from down South. Looking out my kitchen window you can see the bright little crocus blooms. I love the way those flowers ONLY open when it’s sunny – the minute the sun starts going down, they close up. Soon there will be tulips, daffodils, narcisus and hyacinth – Spring is FINALLY here!

Hoping you and your loved ones are celebrating a very lovely day. Praise GOD – HE ROSE! He lives so that we, too, may live. Hallelujah, what a Savior!

Hugs;

Pammie

Published in: on March 31, 2013 at 4:36 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://grammiepammie.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/easter-sunday-2013/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

